Legislators Not Seeking Re-Election

Mar 14, 2014

As Utah’s legislative session ended late last night, some legislators -- including Pat Jones -- have announced they are not seeking re-election. 

Patricia Jones is not seeking re-election.
Credit http://www.utahsenate.org/aspx/senmember.aspx?dist=4

“What the...you mean my 14 years are up?? My last legislative session came too fast, but not fast enough," Jones posted on her Facebook wall. "Thanks family and friends for the opportunity of a lifetime!!!”

This past session, she served as the Assistant Minority Whip in the Utah State Senate.

Jones has served in the Senate since 2007, and prior to that she served in the House of Representatives since 2001.

She currently runs a business called Dan Jones and Associates with her husband who is a Professor of Political Science at the University of Utah. With their business, she assists as a research analyst and professional focus group moderator.  

Other legislators who are not seeking re-election include Ryan Wilcox, Lynn Hemingway, Tim Cosgrove, Janice Fisher, Ronda Menlove, John Mathis, Stuart Reid, Jennifer Seelig, Jim Neilson and Speaker of the House Becky Lockhart, who may run for governor.

There is no limit to the number of terms a state legislator can run for.