Latino USA http://upr.org en Dolores Huerta: A Loyal American Dissenter http://upr.org/post/dolores-huerta-loyal-american-dissenter Since the founding of the U.S., loyal dissent has been a patriotic value. Host Maria Hinojosa talks about that value and the origin of "Si se puede," with labor leader Dolores Huerta. Thu, 03 Jul 2014 17:45:00 +0000 editor 43508 at http://upr.org A Dominican Cyclist in Harlem http://upr.org/post/dominican-cyclist-harlem Former cycling champ Edwin Morel tells us why the sport is more expensive than you might think, life lessons he's learned riding a bike and why sports are good for everyone. Thu, 03 Jul 2014 17:45:00 +0000 editor 43509 at http://upr.org Vamos, USA?! http://upr.org/post/vamos-usa The World Cup craze took over the US this summer, especially among soccer-loving Latinos. We took to the streets to ask Latinos what countries they're rooting for this World Cup. Thu, 03 Jul 2014 17:45:00 +0000 editor 43510 at http://upr.org Sabiduría: Sangre Fuerte http://upr.org/post/sabidur-sangre-fuerte Sometimes, if you want to win, you gotta bluff. Latino USA's Senior Editor, Leda Hartman, shares her aunt's story of pretending with a bit of what she calls "sangre fuerte." Fri, 27 Jun 2014 20:18:00 +0000 editor 43209 at http://upr.org Kidnapped in Caracas http://upr.org/post/kidnapped-caracas Sometimes, pretending can save your life. Reporter Martha Dalton talks to a Venezuelan woman who pretended to be someone else in order to survive an 'express kidnapping' in Caracas. Fri, 27 Jun 2014 20:18:00 +0000 editor 43210 at http://upr.org Who is Gina Chavez? http://upr.org/post/who-gina-chavez In songwriter Gina Chavez' album Up.Rooted, she explores her Latina identity from the perspective of an outsider carefully making her own way in. Fri, 27 Jun 2014 20:18:00 +0000 editor 43211 at http://upr.org Sabiduría: From the Mouths of Babes... http://upr.org/post/sabidur-mouths-babes For our "Kids" episode, we took a trip to PS 154 in the South Bronx to get some life lessons from a group of fourth graders. Fri, 20 Jun 2014 20:16:00 +0000 editor 42857 at http://upr.org Dress for Success? http://upr.org/post/dress-success A little over a month ago a high school in North Texas suspended over 150 students for dress code violations. Was this poor timing, right before exams? Fri, 20 Jun 2014 20:16:00 +0000 editor 42858 at http://upr.org Reviving Mixteco http://upr.org/post/reviving-mixteco In Watsonville, Calif., classes are taught in three languages – English, Spanish and Mixteco, an indigenous Mexican language. Without Mixteco books, teachers decided to write one. Fri, 20 Jun 2014 20:16:00 +0000 editor 42859 at http://upr.org Traveling While Brown http://upr.org/post/traveling-while-brown For people of color, travel can bring all sorts of unexpected experiences, both good and bad. We talk to journalist and author Farai Chideya about how blending in or sticking out can affect travel. Fri, 13 Jun 2014 22:30:00 +0000 editor 42503 at http://upr.org