Jeff Lunden http://upr.org en Met Opera Tentatively Settles With 2 Major Unions http://upr.org/post/met-opera-tentatively-settles-two-major-unions A labor crisis threatening to shut down New York's Metropolitan Opera — the largest opera house in the world — appears to have been averted. Two of the major unions announced a tentative settlement this morning. While agreements with 10 additional unions need to be reached by Tuesday night, this represents a major turning point in a bitter dispute.<p>The Met's labor problems have played out, for the most part, in the press, with acrimonious statements from both management and unions substituting for actual bargaining sessions. Mon, 18 Aug 2014 21:14:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 45579 at http://upr.org Met Opera Tentatively Settles With 2 Major Unions Labor Conflict May Lock Out Met Opera Workers http://upr.org/post/labor-conflict-may-lock-out-met-opera-workers The clock is ticking for the Metropolitan Opera in New York. The world's largest opera company may be headed for a shutdown. Most of the union contracts for the Met expire in a week. Yesterday, Met General Manager Peter Gelb sent a letter to the unions, warning them to prepare for a lockout if they don't come to terms.<p>For months now, the company and its unions have been at an impasse. Management has proposed cutting 16 percent of union members' compensation. Thu, 24 Jul 2014 20:25:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 44492 at http://upr.org Labor Conflict May Lock Out Met Opera Workers New York Philharmonic's Lead Fiddler Rests His Bow http://upr.org/post/new-york-philharmonics-lead-fiddler-rests-his-bow <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QHU82TvSB_o</p> Tue, 24 Jun 2014 21:28:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 43033 at http://upr.org New York Philharmonic's Lead Fiddler Rests His Bow Well Into Spring, 'Frozen' Soundtrack Keeps The Charts Cool http://upr.org/post/well-spring-frozen-soundtrack-keeps-charts-cool Disney's animated film <em>Frozen</em> has been racking up impressive statistics since it was released last November. Its box office earnings total $1 billion, worldwide, the movie won two Academy Awards, and on the first day the home video came out, it sold 3.2 million copies. Fri, 09 May 2014 07:56:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 40797 at http://upr.org Well Into Spring, 'Frozen' Soundtrack Keeps The Charts Cool 'After Midnight,' And The Cotton Club Is Swinging Again http://upr.org/post/after-midnight-and-cotton-club-swinging-again <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7-qEZ9zeIJw</p> Mon, 03 Feb 2014 08:30:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 36500 at http://upr.org 'After Midnight,' And The Cotton Club Is Swinging Again Oppression To Opera: Could A Woman's Courage Change Pakistan? http://upr.org/post/oppression-opera-could-womans-courage-change-pakistan Mukhtar Mai is from a small tribal village in Pakistan. In 2002, her brother was accused of sexually molesting a woman from a wealthy land-owning clan. What happened next was horrifying, says singer and composer Kamala Sankaram.<p>"For retribution, the village council decided that Mukhtar should be gang-raped by four of the men of this clan," Sankaram says. "And what is supposed to happen for a woman after this has taken place is that, not only has she shamed herself, she's brought dishonor to the rest of her family, as well. Sat, 11 Jan 2014 16:31:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 35602 at http://upr.org Oppression To Opera: Could A Woman's Courage Change Pakistan? Broadway's 'Spider-Man' Musical Turns Off The Lights At Last http://upr.org/post/broadways-spider-man-musical-turns-lights-last Regardless of how critics and audiences eventually responded, <em>Spider-Man: Turn Off the Dark</em> was always going to be one of the most-discussed shows in Broadway history. Fri, 03 Jan 2014 08:26:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 35255 at http://upr.org Broadway's 'Spider-Man' Musical Turns Off The Lights At Last New Owner Promises Handmade Steinways For Years To Come http://upr.org/post/new-owner-promises-hand-made-steinways-years-come For 160 years, the pianos made by Steinway & Sons have been considered the finest in the world. So when hedge fund billionaire John Paulson recently bought the company, it struck fear in the hearts of musicians: Would the famously handcrafted pianos be changed, for the sake of efficiency? Paulson, who owns several Steinways himself, says nothing will change.<p>Great pianists need great pianos. Tue, 17 Dec 2013 09:34:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 34619 at http://upr.org New Owner Promises Handmade Steinways For Years To Come For John Kander, A New 'Landing' At A Familiar Spot http://upr.org/post/john-kander-new-landing-familiar-spot Broadway composer John Kander is a living legend: With his songwriting partner, the late Fred Ebb, he created the scores for the smash hit musicals <em>Cabaret </em>and <em>Chicago,</em> as well as the enduring anthem "New York, New York."<p>Now, at 86, Kander has a new writing partner — and a new musical, <em>The Landing,</em> opening off-Broadway Wednesday.<p><strong>"Life Goes On"</strong><p>For a guy with such an illustrious history, Kander isn't terribly nostalgic. He's a writer, and he likes to write. Tue, 22 Oct 2013 20:38:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 32154 at http://upr.org For John Kander, A New 'Landing' At A Familiar Spot Chronicle Of A Death Foretold: New York City Opera Shuts Its Doors http://upr.org/post/chronicle-death-foretold-new-york-city-opera-shuts-its-doors This morning the New York City Opera announced that it was declaring bankruptcy and ceasing operations. Dubbed "The People's Opera" by Mayor Fiorello LaGuardia when it was founded 70 years ago, the company was meant as an alternative to the richer Metropolitan Opera. Tue, 01 Oct 2013 21:59:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 31225 at http://upr.org Chronicle Of A Death Foretold: New York City Opera Shuts Its Doors