Steve Eaton http://upr.org en Trombone Playing Father Came Up With Plan to Thwart Bully http://upr.org/post/trombone-playing-father-came-plan-thwart-bully <p>On this Father's Day, UPR special contributor and Deseret News columnist Steve Eaton reflects on life with his father, Ed.</p><p><br /><font size="2"><span style="font-size:10pt;">I suppose some people would find my father’s behavior embarrassing.</span></font></p><p><font size="2"><span style="font-size:10pt;">I’m sure some frightened people were probably tempted, at first, to call the cops when they discovered him on their front lawn early in the morning playing happy birthday to them on his trombone. By his own admission, his old battered instrument from college never could deliver that pure sound he hoped it would. But if he was on your front lawn, it was played with such reckless abandon that it would be easy to imagine it represented 75 more trombones gathered together in a parade in your honor.</span></font><br /><br /><font size="2"><span style="font-size:10pt;">Despite his unorthodox approach to life, my father has four grown children who see such acts of off-tune love quite remarkable. To say we are proud of Dad, is an understatement. No one else had a dad who wore an umbrella hat in public.</span></font></p><p><font size="2"><span style="font-size:10pt;">He was a trend-setter for us. For example, my Dad taught us the sweetness of the “slow roll.” My Mom, who was always a grownup, was sharing with us something long and important at a family meeting when my Dad started to rock back and forth slowly on the floor on his back - as if he was in a giant infant rockaRoo. </span></font></p><p> Sun, 15 Jun 2014 15:07:55 +0000 Steve Eaton 42508 at http://upr.org Trombone Playing Father Came Up With Plan to Thwart Bully Marathon Man http://upr.org/post/marathon-man <p>UPR's Steve Eaton says he'll be running in a marathon next year. You can call him "Marathon Man."</p><p> Thu, 29 May 2014 18:57:12 +0000 Steve Eaton 41778 at http://upr.org Stop Wrecking The Snow!! http://upr.org/post/stop-wrecking-snow <p>Steve Eaton discusses his view of the snow- from growing up in Washington to living in Utah: snow is something special for him.</p><p>"People just wreck the snow in Utah. I know, I know, they call it the "Greatest Snow on Earth" and they charge people to see it. But they don't treat it with the respect it deserves.</p><p></p><p>In the olden days, when I lived in the state of Washington, we had a different attitude. That was back before Al Gore invented global warming, and things started getting colder in Washington. Back then, snow was rare. You didn't really need to watch the weather forecast in Washington unless there was a possibility snow was coming.<br /><br /> Tue, 07 Jan 2014 18:31:15 +0000 Steve Eaton 41449 at http://upr.org Stop Wrecking The Snow!! Star Trek: A stressful experience for Steve Eaton http://upr.org/post/star-trek-stressful-experience-steve-eaton <p></p><p>The new Star Trek movie is out, but Steve Eaton may or may not be at the theater. He has PTSTPRTS: Post Traumatic Star Trek Public Relations Trauma Syndrome from a traumatic experience with Cpt. Kirk and Spock. He tells us why you may be postponed from seeing the movie.</p><p> Thu, 11 Jul 2013 19:02:01 +0000 Steve Eaton 27359 at http://upr.org Star Trek: A stressful experience for Steve Eaton My Big Mouth http://upr.org/post/my-big-mouth <p>Steve Eaton talks today about the trouble he&#39;s gotten into when the words tumble from his mouth. Always in good humor and fun, sometimes the wrong things come out. And sometimes, they&#39;re the right things.&nbsp;</p> Wed, 15 Aug 2012 16:51:08 +0000 Steve Eaton 11983 at http://upr.org My Big Mouth Wedding Announcements and Photos http://upr.org/post/wedding-announcements-and-photos <p>Why should all wedding announcement pictures be the same? Steve Eaton thinks they should be as unique as the individual.&nbsp;</p> Mon, 13 Aug 2012 17:31:53 +0000 Steve Eaton 11856 at http://upr.org Garage Sale Lessons http://upr.org/post/garage-sale-lessons <p>Steve Eaton talks all about the tricks of getting just what you want, and maybe what you don&#39;t really need, at a garage sale.&nbsp;</p> Tue, 19 Jun 2012 16:56:48 +0000 Steve Eaton 8977 at http://upr.org A Dog's Life with Steve Eaton http://upr.org/post/dogs-life-steve-eaton <p>Steve Eaton talks about the dogs in his life, the four legged ones, and the lessons we can learn from them.&nbsp;</p> Tue, 12 Jun 2012 17:17:50 +0000 Steve Eaton 8621 at http://upr.org Camping Regrets with Steve Eaton http://upr.org/post/camping-regrets-steve-eaton <p>&quot;The weather&#39;s warming up which means it&#39;s time to remember the colossal mistake.&quot;</p> Tue, 08 May 2012 21:55:33 +0000 Steve Eaton 6904 at http://upr.org Is It Ever Okay to Eat a Cookie Before 7:00 AM? http://upr.org/post/it-ever-okay-eat-cookie-700-am <p>Every family has an official designated shopper. Steve Eaton&#39;s family has a strict list of approved foods and forbidden food. As a columnist, it&#39;s his responsibility to talk about important issues of the day like eating chocolate chip cookies before 7:00 a.m. Also about the relationship between pink slime and the Occupy Wall Street movement.</p> Wed, 04 Apr 2012 14:56:11 +0000 Steve Eaton 5193 at http://upr.org